New President Appointed

Print This Post Print This Post

This post was published 8 years 9 months 11 days ago.

It has been left on the site for ARCHIVE purposes only and is not actively maintained.

For team and score information please follow this link

At the Annual General Meeting held in the Club on Wednesday, 8th July 2009, David Burnett, a lawyer and longtime player and committee member at the Club, was appointed President in succession to John Tiffen,

CRUFC President, David Burnett

CRUFC President, David Burnett

John decided to step down after thirteen seasons in post.

It has been the custom at Carlisle that, once elected, the President is automatically re-elected annually until death.  John thought this was unfair on other “worthies” and to faciliate the change, the rules were amended.  In future, a president will hold office for a term of two years.

Thanks were expressed to John Tiffen for his valuable efforts during his period as our President.

Other elected or re-elected at the meeting were:

Chairman:                    Bill Swarbrick

Secretary:                    David Morton

Treasurer:                   Alan Hodgson

Club Captain:              Steve Stamper

To serve for a two year term on the committee, the following were:

David Atkinson

Tony Hargreaves

David Rawling

Ian Scott

The minutes of the meeting and the annual report of the secretary are now available in the Committee Documents Section